CLP Secretary for Bridgwater & West Somerset is:

CLP Secretary Brian Smedley


Bridgwater East & Bawdrip

Hilary Bruce, Labour councillor in Fairfax

Bridgwater East and Bawdrip consists of the Eastern part of the town and some peripheral villages. It is currently represented at County Level by a Conservative but has in the past been Labour. It consists of several overlapping town wards which are all Labour controlled.


Bridgwater Fairfax is the Northern part of Sydenham and Bower Manor and is currently represented by 3 Labour councillors on District, Hilary Bruce, Graham Granter & Alec Glassford ,and 1 Labour Councillor on Town, Graham Granter (West) and Diogo Rodrigues (East)-elected as Labour, now Independent .

Labour councillors   are Hilary Bruce, Alex Glassford and Graham Granter.

On Bridgwater Town Council Fairfax is 2 wards. Councillor for the West ward is GRAHAM GRANTER and for the EAST ward   DIOGO RODRIGUES

Alexia Bartlett, Labour councillor in Dunwear


Bridgwater Dunwear is the Southern part of Sydenham and Bower manor and includes the Bridge estate. In 2019 2 Labour councillors were, ALEXIA BARTLETT and DIOGO RODRIGUES. Shortly after being elected Diogo changed to Independent.

For Town Dunwear is 2 wards. North ward is Labour’s  DAVE LOVERIDGE and South ward is Tory


The outlying ward of KING’S ISLE stretches across the moors and includes Tory controlled Weston Zoyland, Middlezoy, Othery, Chedzoy and Bawdrip but forms part of this County ward.

King’s Isle candidate for 2019 was LIANNE VESSIER.

Labour representatives in Bridgwater East & Bawdrip: